top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAbby Blada

Soft and Gooey Cinnamon Rolls

Every year on either Thanksgiving or Christmas my dad would make us cinnamon rolls for breakfast. I can remember waking up to him rolling up the dough as I watched the Parade on TV. As small as that is, those are some of my favorite holiday memories!


A while back I found this recipe for cinnamon rolls, and ever since I have been HOOKED. This is the recipe I plan to use to pass down the tradition to make these for Thanksgiving and Christmas breakfast.

The whole time making these I was so impatient. All I wanted to do is sit down with one of these bad boys and a cup of coffee. So when the time came to finally do so... you bet I enjoyed every minute of it! Some of the cinnamon and sugar that was on the inside, seeped to the bottom of the pan while baking which causes it to have a gooey cinnamon bottom as well as inside. Whenever eating any cinnamon roll I really need to hold myself back from eating the center first...ugh that is my favorite part. But with this recipe it wasn't too hard because every bit of it is soft and fluffy.



Lets begin!

Just for reference, everything I have pictured is measured out for a half recipe.


I started by measuring out 1/2 cup luke warm water, 1 package of RedStar active dry yeast, and 1/2 tsp of granulated sugar. I mixed them together and set aside.



Next, I measured out 3 TBS of Crisco shortening, 1/2 cup granulated sugar, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1 cup hot water. I let the sugar, salt, and Crisco mix well together before adding the water to insure that the shortening got thoroughly creamed. Then I added 1 cup of flour to that mix and let it sit till luke warm.

Once it has cooled down, mix in the yeast mixture and then 1 egg. Once mixed, I slowly added the rest of the flour and let the mixer knead the dough using the dough hook until fully combined.

After combined, I floured the counter and continued to knead by hand until dough was smooth and silky to the touch. Then I placed in a bowl, covered in a wet towel and let it proof in the oven. The oven I used has a proof setting on it, if you don't have that just let it sit on the counter covered until doubled in size.



When the dough was doubled in size I re-floured the counter and rolled out the dough. I used about one stick of SOFT butter, 1 cup brown sugar, and 3 TBS cinnamon. I smear the butter almost like lotion onto the dough. The butter will act as a glue when you go to put the cinnamon and sugar on. Those measurements are an estimate, for the filling it is all based on your taste. I personally like a lot of cinnamon so I add a lot. Another alternative is to add pecans or raisins, but I am a plain Jane and just use cinnamon and sugar.


When rolling, it does not matter which way you roll it up- that is up to you!


After I finished rolling and cutting, I sprayed my pan with non-stick and placed them in, covered and let them rise again. Normally I would put parchment on the bottom of the pan to prevent sticking, but for some reason I didn't this time!


When done rising, let them bake at 350f for about 20 min.



For the frosting, I like it drenched in it. So I actually doubled the original recipe and added maple syrup to it. I used 8 TBS of melted butter, 4 cups powdered sugar, 8 TBS milk, 2 tsp vanilla, and 2 tsp maple syrup.







And finally I was able to sit down and eat one...or three...

Hope you enjoyed this recipe as much as I did, and if you have any questions let me know!


Full Recipe Here:

INGREDIENTS:

FOR THE CINNAMON ROLLS:

  • 2 packages active dry yeast (4 1/2 teaspoons)

  • 1 cup lukewarm water

  • 1 teaspoon granulated sugar, to proof the yeast

  • 6 tablespoons shortening (Crisco)

  • 1 cup granulated sugar

  • 8 cups unbleached all-purpose flour (you might need more if the dough is sticky, up to 9-10 cups)

  • 2 cups hot water

  • 2 eggs, beaten

  • 1 tablespoon salt

  • Softened butter (about 1/2 cup total)

  • Brown sugar (about 1 1/2 cups total)

  • Raisins (about 1 cup total)

  • Cinnamon (about 2 tablespoons total)



FOR THE FROSTING:

  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened

  • 2 cups powdered sugar

  • 4 tablespoons milk

  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Add yeast to 1 cup of lukewarm water and add the sugar. Set aside for about five minutes. 2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, add shortening, sugar, and salt to the 2 cups of hot water and beat for 30 seconds, using the beater blade. Let cool to lukewarm temperature. Stir in 2 cups of flour and mix until smooth. Add yeast mixture and mix until well combined. Mix in the beaten eggs. 3. Gradually stir in the remaining flour and mix with the dough hook for about 2 minutes. Remove dough from the bowl and place on a lightly floured counter. Knead by hand, add a little flour if the dough is still sticky. Knead until dough feels satiny and smooth. 4. Cover and let rise for 30 minutes. After the dough has doubled in size, remove it from the bowl and divide it in half. With a rolling pin, roll one half of the dough into a rectangular shape, about 22 X 13 inches. Spread dough evenly with half of the softened butter, about 1/4 cup. Sprinkle dough with half of the brown sugar, raisins, and cinnamon. You can omit the raisins, but my family loves them. 5. Roll up dough into one long roll. Cut rolls, using a piece of dental floss or thread, about two inches thick. Place rolls in greased 9X13 baking pans. Now follow the exact same steps with the other half of the dough. 6. Let the rolls rise until double in bulk. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Bake for 20-30 minutes or until cinnamon rolls are golden brown on top and cooked in the middle. Every oven is different so check at 20 minutes to be safe, but it might take longer. You don’t want them to be doughy in the middle. Time will also vary based on how big they get during the second rise. Ours take closer to 28-30 minutes. Remove from the oven and let the rolls cool to room temperature. 7. While the rolls are cooling, make the frosting. In a medium bowl, whisk together butter, sugar, milk, and vanilla. Frost the cooled cinnamon rolls generously!

Note-my dad never measures the butter, brown sugar, raisins, and cinnamon, but I estimated in the ingredient list. Divide these ingredients between the two halves of dough. My dad is always very generous with the ingredients! You can refrigerate the rolls overnight and bake in the morning. Put the rolls in the pans and cover with plastic wrap. Refrigerate overnight. In the morning, pull the rolls out and let them come to room temperature and rise a little. Bake and enjoy!





Recipe found at: https://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/recipe-for-cinnamon-rolls/


431 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page